Awards & Recognition

For over 50 years, CBHA has provided quality health care services to the entire patient community, regardless of who they are or their ability to pay for treatment. A vision that started as a simple “what if” has bloomed into a network of modern, sophisticated, and professionally run healthcare clinics serving the greater Adams, Grant, and Franklin Counties.

Columbia Basin Health Association has been acknowledged for these efforts with numerous industry awards and recognition. Our local clinics are recognized nationally as a premier leader in the Community Health Center industry.

Studer Group Physician Service Line of the Quarter

Joint Commission Accreditation

By demonstration compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health-care quality and safety, Columbia Basin Health Association (CBHA) earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™. CBHA has been Joint Commission accredited since 2002. “Achieving accreditation demonstrates that CBHA has voluntarily sought an independent evaluation of its compliance with state-of-the-art performance standards,” says Michael Kulczycki, executive director, Ambulatory Care Accreditation Program, The Joint Commission.

Migrant Health Center Award

In 2011, the National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC) honored CBHA with the Migrant Health Center of the Year Award. The award applauds CBHA’s achievements and contributions to the migrant health center mission, and more broadly to the community-based healthcare community. In a press release NACHC stated that “CBHA was presented with the award because of their tireless efforts to address the critical healthcare needs of their surrounding rural community, which includes migrant and seasonal farmworkers.”

ATSU Clinical Award

In recognition of Columbia Basin Health Association’s (CBHA) dedication to clinical quality, and for stressing the importance of exemplary service to resident students of the Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health (ATSU), the university presented CBHA with its Clinical Quality Award in 2009.

Cecilia B. Abhold Award

Sr. Cecilia B. Abhold was the founding Executive Director of Farmworker Health Services, Inc. (FHSI). Her strong influence in FHSI’s dedication to improving the quality of life of our nation’s farmworkers inspired an award created posthumously in her honor. Each year, the award is granted to outreach programs that exhibit excellence in community health outreach. In 2007, Columbia Basin Health Association was selected as the Western stream recipient for its exemplary service to farmworkers.

Downtown Revitalization Award

The Columbia Basin Health Association (CBHA) was recognized for undertaking an “Outstanding Special Project” in Othello when it expanded the former downtown campus. The improvements allowed CBHA to treat more patients and expand services to include pharmacy and additional vision and dental care. The campus also became a cornerstone building in the community. City of Othello Administrator Ehman Sheldon said of the accomplishment: “The result of this effort is easy and convenient access to healthcare services. It increased traffic flow within the downtown area and improved the look and appeal of our city.”

MAP Award

The MAP award is given to organizations for success in three judged criteria: Measure performance (M), Apply evidence-based strategies for improvement (A), and Perform the highest standards in today’s challenging healthcare environment (P). As a national-award winner, CBHA has met or exceeded stringent evaluation criteria addressing critical performance factors, such as revenue cycle processes, financial performance, innovation, adoption of PATIENT FRIENDLY BILLING® principles, and patient satisfaction. Winners of this award demonstrate measurable results in the specific MAP Keys, resulting in improved financial performance and patient satisfaction.

HIMSS Davies Award

Since 1994, the HIMSS Nicholas E. Davies Award of Excellence has recognized outstanding achievement of organizations that have utilized health information technology to substantially improve patient outcomes while achieving a return on investment. The Davies Awards program promotes electronic health record enabled improvements in patient results through collaboration and knowledge sharing.